Faculty in the News: Brenda Russell, PhD

April 3rd, 2019 – Brenda Russell was elected Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering with the citation stating this is for her "distinguished contributions in the field of mechanobiology and the exploration of forces in biologic responses of cells and tissues." The award was presented in in Washington, DC on March 25th, 2019.

Publication News: Martin Davis and Alexandra Naba, PhD

March 27th, 2019 – Congratulations to Martin Davis and Dr. Alexandra Naba for their recent article entitled "In-silico characterization of the Caenorhabditis elegans matrisome and proposal of a novel collagen classification" published in Matrix Biology Plus. The article can be read here.

Faculty in the News: Michael and Kate Barany, PhDs

March 26th, 2019 – Commemorating Michael Barany's milestone paper in J Gen Physiology, this paper also recounts the history of Michael and Kate at UIC and the trials and tribulations they went through. As mentioned in the paper, their lives are a tribute to the human spirit. The article can be read here.

Student in the News: Anthony Arena

March 19th, 2019 – Congratulations to Anthony Arena for being selected to the Genetic Society of America (GSA) Early Career Scientist Leadership Program. Participants receive training and mentoring and serve on committees learning about, and addressing, the needs, interests, concerns, and challenges of early career scientist members of the GSA. Anthony will be serving as a member of the Policy Subcommittee, where he will also be the liaison to the Steering Committee. For more information, please click here.

Faculty in the News: Mark Rasenick, PhD

March 5th, 2019 – Mark Rasenick, distinguished professor of physiology & biophysics and psychiatry in the UIC College of Medicine, is quoted in an article on the WTTW Chicago Tonight website on the announcement that the FDA will soon approve the drug ketamine to treat depression. Read the full article here.

Publication News: Christopher Solis, PhD and Brenda Russell, PhD

March 5th, 2019 – Congratulations to Drs. Christopher Solis and Brenda Russell for their recent publication in the Journal of General Physiology! The research article, CapZ integrates several signaling pathways in response to mechanical stiffness, can be read here.

Post-docs in the News: Christopher Solis, PhD

January 15, 2019 – Dr. Christopher Solís, who works in Russell lab at the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, was instrumental in organizing the first Costa Rican Biophysics Symposium. Dr. Solís applied for Biophysical Society mini-grant funding and was awarded $500. Dr. Solís was born in Costa Rica and saw an opportunity to build an international network of scientists whose work is representative of the field of biophysics.